Korean Learning 韓文學習 Part 1

在我2015年初考TOPIK前已經打算考完試以後寫一下學習韓文的文章,不過一直都沒有做。多年來買了這麼多書,不是每一本都有用,我不想大家跟我一樣浪費金錢。

不過開始講上面的那些書之前,我想首先推薦一個大家都可能聽過的網頁- Talk to me in Korean,和網頁上售賣的一些電子書。對,我除了實體書還買了不少電子書。 

Ever since before I took TOPIK in 2015, I have wanted to write about all these books I bought. Since some of them are not that useful, I don’t want others to waste money like me…

However, before I started talking about them, I want to start by recommending a site most of you probably know- Talk to me in Korean. Why am I talking about it? I guess most people knew about it already? Firstly, I just found out someone I know did not know about it today. Secondly, I want to recommend some of their ebooks. Yes, apart from books, I bought a lot of ebooks too. And no, I did not finish studying them all.

我一開始學習韓文,就是用這網頁,如果你沒有學過韓文,把韓文字母記了一遍,就可以由Level 1開始。我後來總覺得發音上有問題,所以在線上找了韓文補習老師,現在主要是跟老師練會話,其他大部份都是自學。去年四月考了一次TOPIK II,拿了180。

If you have just started learning Korean, just go and memorise Hangul (the Korean alphabet) and start from level 1 onwards. That was how I started my self-learning journey a few years ago, later on I found Korean tutors online because I had some pronounication problems and now I mainly practise oral Korean with tutors and study the rest on my own and I got 180 in TOPIK exam early last year.

這網頁上免費又對中級最有用的就是iyagi系列,可以練聽力,又可以學生字,跟著唸還可以練發音。

電子書方面,我推薦的是

  1. Slang Expressions in Korean
  2. Everyday Korean Idiomatic Expressions
  3. News in Korean series (Aug 2015)

1&2可以幫我們認識一般書裡沒有的俚語慣用語,看韓劇和綜藝會有用。最後新聞的系列由韓國人用不同速度讀新聞,這個對TOPIK聽力很有用,裡面有全文,還有生字和翻譯。對我個人來說,記生字最有用還是要在運用上學習才能記得牢,就像用聽這種,雖然進度可能慢一點,但比較能記住,所以我之前買過的生字書,現在都不知已經放哪裡了…

Back to TTMIK website recommendations, if you are already at intermediate level, you can use the iyagi series from their website for free. And I also recommend

  1. Slang Expressions in Korean
  2. Everyday Korean Idiomatic Expressions
  3. News in Korean series (An example from Aug 2015)

I also bought some other books from them, like workbook, some of the iyagi series and vocabulary ones. Iyagi ones are ok, but as you can get most of the stuff for free, so it’s not as recommended as the 3 above.

#1 & 2 helped me learn some of the slangs/idioms you don’t find in standard textbook, and they will help you when you watch Korean dramas/variety shows. News in Korean series help a lot in listening (they read the news article in different speeds) and improves your vocabulary, and it helps a lot for TOPIK exam preparation too. You can view the sample pages and audio on TTMIK site. For me, this sort of stuff can help me in more effective memorisation of vocabulary, vocabulary lists can only stay in my short term memory…

Leave a Reply

